interesting technique

English: Rubber bands in different colors. Stu...

English: Rubber bands in different colors. Studio photo taken. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Been a while since I posted. I’ve been busy since I’ve been back to work after my “nervous breakdown” or whatever you want to call it. They switched workloads around and somehow I’m busier than I ever was…so much for my boss wanting “to ease you back into work and not overwhelm you.” 🙂 Anyway, I was ok for a while but the last week or so , I’ve been going backwards. I’m starting to feel more anxious at work and so I talked to my counselor about it. She suggested positive self talk and this rubber band technique. First, put a rubber band on your wrist. It’s not a new idea, but one I’ve never tried. Point is whenever I feel an anxious or self-doubting thought, first I am to talk myself down from it, i.e say things like “Everything will be ok, the work will get down, it’s ok, etc.” and if that doesn’t work, snap myself with the elastic. Supposedly I’ll be more focused on the pain than the worrisome thoughts. So far, I have a big red welt on my arm and I’m still anxious. Yay me !!! 🙂 well, i just wanted to post something so there it is people, hope you enjoyed it. Have a great day !!!

About midlifeKrisis

I'm a happily married woman who is trying to figure out my purpose in life. I have a great husband and friends, an ok job - in this economy, i know i'm lucky to have one, and a pretty good social life. But...there's something missing. I feel I should be happier, so I've decided to start a blog to get my thoughts out there and maybe motivate myself.
This entry was posted in purpose of life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to interesting technique

  1. The Diary of Hidden Tears says:

    Hmm yep this technique has been suggested to me many times but I’ve never tried it…I keep saying I’ll give it ago but it’s only to appease my councillor… xoxo

  2. You still have to be funny even in a state of anxiety…I’m sorry you feel like you are going backwards, but it might not be that at all. All sorts of reasons can cause short-term anxiety from weather, to school ending to planning for vacation. If you have to talk to yourself, tell yourself that it is excitement anxiety because there are only two more Mondays till vacation! You are OK as you were able to express that you are having increased anxiety before it was out of control. xoxo

Leave a Reply

