covetousness

Last night’s bible study class had to do with covetnousmess and trying to define it was hard. I think it’s wanting what others have , not being happy for them that they have things, and not appreciating what we ourselves have. I admit i have coveted before and although I’m not proud of it, I’m a work in progress and i’m trying not to covet. As i write about constantly, I am looking for a new job. When I hear that someone has found a new job, am I happy for them or am i jealous and angry. If the latter, then I’m coveting their job. Well, This is what I need to work on because indeed I covet their job. What i should be doing is being grateful i have a job now that gives me the freedom to look for something else with less fear than if I didn’t have a job. I should be grateful I have a job where i get paid, have benefits, etc.  There is nothing wrong with my wanting a new job, but it IS wrong to covet. If someone gets a job , then I need to be happy for them and wish them luck, so that’s my lesson to myself today. I am going to be more grateful for what I have and not covet thy neighbor’s job…or anything for that matter. Also, it’s good for me to write 5 things a day to be grateful for so I see that i might have things that others wish they had, thus  I start to realize just how much I have. I truly am blessed and if my only complaint is a boring job where I’m unhappy, i am lucky. I have so much good and i shouldn’t covet anyone’s anything.

About midlifeKrisis

I'm a happily married woman who is trying to figure out my purpose in life. I have a great husband and friends, an ok job - in this economy, i know i'm lucky to have one, and a pretty good social life. But...there's something missing. I feel I should be happier, so I've decided to start a blog to get my thoughts out there and maybe motivate myself.
This entry was posted in purpose of life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to covetousness

  1. Kris, if you truly believe you covet, just believe in what you are learning: there is a plan for us all. You were correct in realizing that you do have a job with benefits and even though you don’t like it as least you can pay your bills. I was expecting you to write the 5 things you were grateful for in your blog – are we going to know or is this a personal journal? You’re awesome. xoxo

  2. ghdflghkdfs says:

    Your style is really unique in comparison to other people I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this site.

Leave a Reply

