obsessing on meditation room, but not the meditation part

I have an extra room in my house because my stepdaughter who lives with us has moved to my stepson’s old room’  so, I got all excited!! This room will become my meditation room. The place where I sit and meditate and get closer to God or Spirit or whatever you wish to call it, and I will find the answer to my questions like “Why am I here ? Is this all I’m meant to be? how can I feel more fulfilled?” Well, I’ve been buying items for this room for the past 3 weeks. I chose a beautiful and serene wall color called Quiet Rain (how appropriate for meditating , I thought) . I bought Japanese divider screens, meditation cushion, candles, Himalayan salt lamp, pictures, incense, serenity prayer wall decal, and a few other items. Have I meditated yet ???? Of course not! Why am I such a procrastinator ?? I’d meditate on this very question  IF I COULD ONLY START MEDITATING. I have issues.

About midlifeKrisis

I'm a happily married woman who is trying to figure out my purpose in life. I have a great husband and friends, an ok job - in this economy, i know i'm lucky to have one, and a pretty good social life. But...there's something missing. I feel I should be happier, so I've decided to start a blog to get my thoughts out there and maybe motivate myself.
This entry was posted in purpose of life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to obsessing on meditation room, but not the meditation part

  1. You are too funny! I think it’s great that you are making a space for yourself. If you bring a TV in, then you are missing the point. Just start to make yourself comfy in there – no need to meditate right away. How about dreaming about your next vacation, the next meal you’ll cook from scratch, how a job change might be the answer instead of just looking for one in the same field. I think you have so much to give with your humor that their must be hospitals and such that would appreciate having you work with them in PR or with the kids. Just a thought. Just stay true to yourself as you are not selfish and work so hard on trying to improve yourself when maybe you don’t need to anymore.

  2. Pingback: Meditation sitting posture « ::: Therapy Collect ::: Affordable Care Community :::

Leave a Reply

