Do i need to simplify ?

I got back from the retreat on Sunday and I had a great time. In talking to some people, I’m wondering if I’m putting more pressure on myself to find my life purpose,that I’m blocking any answer from getting through! I am a good wife, stepmother , friend and family member. I am a good employee.  My friend Mary said that maybe my purpose is to simply be…to take each day and help people, maybe my purpose for one day is to hold the door open for an  elderly person. That’s a nice thought , and I like it, but not sure if it’s MY complete answer . I do agree though with my husband …shhhh, don’t tell him  🙂 , it is time to simplify all the stuff I’ve been reading . I am so desperately seeking for an answer that I’m not even reading half the articles I printed out! Now they ‘re a fire hazard as I’ve got overflowing papers!!! I got books on my nightstand that I look at and feel guilty because I didn’t take any of the suggestions. So I threw out all but 1 article, and i am not buying another book. And I unsubscribed from a couple of newsletters . It’s a start…..hey I know I’m not meant to be Mother Theresa or something, but I do want to be more complete so this great blog continues on 🙂

About midlifeKrisis

I'm a happily married woman who is trying to figure out my purpose in life. I have a great husband and friends, an ok job - in this economy, i know i'm lucky to have one, and a pretty good social life. But...there's something missing. I feel I should be happier, so I've decided to start a blog to get my thoughts out there and maybe motivate myself.
This entry was posted in purpose of life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do i need to simplify ?

  1. Welcome back! Glad you had a great time. Discovering our purpose is an interesting balance of examining the desires put on the inside of us and the opportunities in front of us. Being faithful with what is in our hands ultimately opens the doors for our future, but knowing the future can provide a great motivation for being faithful with what’s in our hands. If you have room for one more book :), Brian Houston’s book on aligning our purpose is a short read and has a great section on practically walking it out. http://www.amazon.com/This-Was-Born-Aligning-Vision/dp/0849919134

Leave a Reply

